Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Miniature d'Umbria III-SOLO BSN

Composer: Pfiffner, Ernst

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 2012


Miniature d'Umbria III
for unaccompanied bassoon
by Ernst Pfiffner (1922-2011)- Swiss composer
1. Ritornello I
2. Rocca maggiore
3. Rocca minore
4. Ritornello II
5. & 6. Piazza del comune/Minerva
7. Ritornello III
8. Tramonto
9. Ritornello IV

All the works in this series were composed following an unforgettable stay in Assisi, a town which owes its fame, not to any power or magnitude, but to the serene and courageous figure of St. Francis. There, of curs,e nature and art are combined with the radiance of the saint in a unique fashion. Again and again, the composer was tempted the search creatively for these mysteries and it seemed fitting to do this within the confines of a single voice, not in today's abstinence from harmony and fullness of tone, but following somewhat the timeless example of the Gregorian chant. 

Miniature I concerns scenes from the life of Chiara o Assisi, befriended by St. Francis. Miniature II is for solo oboe d'amore, and was inspired by the important places of Assisi. Miniature III is for solo bassoon. The following experiences gave the impetus for these compositions: The fortifications which were known to St. Francis (2 & 3), the Piazza del Comune with the Minerva Temple (5 & 6), Sunset at San Stefano (8). Four Ritornellos frame and unify the whole.