Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Miniature d'Umbria I - SOLO EH

Composer: Pfiffner, Ernst

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 57292


Miniature d'Umbria I
for unaccompanied English horn
by Ernst Pfiffner (1922-2011) - Swiss composer
1. Opulence of the family home - totally different wishes of the daughter
2. Chiara turns down proposals
3. Meeting with Francis
4. The Pair examine the sentence, "Where ove, there God" (Gregorian melody Ubi Caritas)
5. Blessed reunion in heaven
All the works in this series were composed following an unforgettable stay in Assisi, a town which owes its fame, not to any power or magnitude, but to the serene and courageous figure of St. Francis. There, of curs,e nature and art are combined with the radiance of the saint in a unique fashion. Again and again, the composer was tempted the search creatively for these mysteries and it seemed fitting to do this within the confines of a single voice, not in today's abstinence from harmony and fullness of tone, but following somewhat the timeless example of the Gregorian chant. 
Miniature I concerns scenes from the life of Chiara o Assisi, befriended by St. Francis. Miniature II is for solo oboe d'amore, and Miniature III is for solo bassoon.