Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Les Nations Volume IV: La Piemontoise-2OB/BSN/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Couperin, François

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1890


Les Nations Volume IV: La Piemontoise
for two oboes (or flutes, or violins), bassoon (or cello, or string bass), and piano (basso continuo)
by François Couperin (1668-1733)- French Baroque composer, organist, and harpsichordist
I. Gravement
II. Vivement
III. Gravement
IV. Vivement et Marque
V. Air Gracieusement
VI. 2e Air
VII. Gravement et Marque
VIII. Legerement
IX. Allemande
X. Courante
XI. Seconde Courante
XII. Sarabande
XIII. Rondeau
XIV. Gigue
XV. Bouree
Edited by Edward Higginbottom. This suite of dances appears in four volumes, andis distinctly French and conservative in style. The dances themselves are Couperin's most beautifully turned in the old style: discreet and flowing, but with a wealth of expressive detail, and at times, a force that belies their surface charm. The Chaconnes are a superb example of Couperin's treatment of the form: grandiose in design, tender in expression, rich in detail, though urgent in their drive. 
This edition comes with solo parts for the two top voices, playable by violin, oboe, or flute, a part for "basse d'archet", playable on bassoon, cello, or string bass, as well as a fully realized keyboard continuo. The basse d'archet is a florid, yet conventional basso part, doubled in the left hand of the keyboard part. 
Les Nations Volume I: La Francois is available as MR 1872.
Les Nations Volume II: L'Espagnole is available as MR 1882.
Les Nations Volume III: L'Imperial is available as MR 1857.
Les Nations Volume IV: La Piemontoise is available as MR 1890.