Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Six Sonatas, op. 2, V2 - OB/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Marcello

Publisher: Hortus Musicus (Germany)

Edition: 61509


Six Sonatas, op. 2, Volume 2
for oboe (or flute, or violin) and piano (basso continuo)
by Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) - Italian composer, writer, advocate, magistrate, and teacher
Sonata in g minor
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Adagio
IV. A Tempo Giusto Presto
Sonata in e minor
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro

The recorder sonatas are taken from a collection of 12 sonatas, printed for the first time in 1712 by G. Sale in Venice. That same year, the 26-year old Marcello became a member of the “Accademia Filarmonica” in Bologna. In 1711 he had already been elected a judge in the “Council of Forty” in Venice. These sonatas were composed by a man who already at the time, but also throughout his later life, had to divide between music and strenuous official duties, and who always called himself a simple “Dilettante della musica”.

Edited by Jorgen Glode, this edition comes with a solo part, a basso part, as well as a fully realized keyboard part. 
Volume 1 is available by clicking HERE
Volume 3 is available by clicking HERE