Click image above to zoom

Octet in F Major, D803, op. 166 (study score) - CL/BSN/HN/STG4/KB

Composer: Schubert, Franz

Publisher: Henle

Edition: 61442


Octet in F Major, D803
for clarinet, bassoon, horn, two violins, viola, cello, and string bass
by Franz Schubert (1797-1828)- Austrian composer
I. Adagio- Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro vivace
IV. Andante & Variations
V. Menuetto & Trio
VI. Andante molto- Allegro

Edited by Peter Jost, this is one of the finest editions of the Schubert Octet available. 

The model for this composition was Beethoven's Septet op. 20, whose Divertimento character and six-part layout were adopted by Schubert, although he merely expanded the instrumentation by adding a second violin. In a letter he numbered his octet amongst the chamber music works with which he desired to blaze a “path to the great symphony.” It can no longer be ascertained whether the composition was commissioned by Count Ferdinand Troyer, who had a musical salon in Vienna and played the clarinet. We only know that Schubert composed the work at the beginning of 1824, taking only a few weeks to do so and that it was shortly performed at Troyer's afterwards. Today it is one of the most popular larger chamber music works.

This title is the study score only. To order the full set of parts, please click here