We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Two Preludes & Fugues K404a (score & parts) - OB/CL/BSN

Composer: Bach, J.S.

Publisher: Rosewood Publications (England)

Edition: 10


Two Preludes and Fugues  
for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon
by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - German Baroque composer

Arranged by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart for string trio K404a

Mozart became influenced by the Baroque Style as a result of the interests of the Dutch-born Baron Gottfried van Swieten (1733-1803), a civil servant, diplomat and patron of music, whose father was physician to Maria Thesea from 1745 onwards. Gottfried van Swieten spent much of his time abroad, representing Austrian interests, and collected many scores of Handel's music in London in 1769. Mozart orchestrated some of these. Van Swieten had not heard any of JS Bach's music until July 1774, but when the subject was raised by the King, he set about collecting manuscript copies and printed editions of Bach's works. Although pedantic and miserly, his influence on Mozart turned out to be highly significant, for the discovery of Baroque counterpoint created a crisis in mozart's creative process, culminating in the great unfinished Mass in c minor K427. 

Van Swieten held private concerts on Sundays from noon to two in the afternoon in 1782 and 1783. A string trio formed the basis of these gatherings which was sometimes extended to a quartet when Haydn or Mozart was invited. Mozart woudl sometimes play continuo. It was for these occasions that Mozart arranged several three-part movements from such works as the Well-Tempered Clavier, the Art of the Fugue, etc. The K404a collection contains five three-part works by JS Bach, and one by WF Bach.