Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto #1 in C Major-OB/PN

Composer: Fischer, Johann Christian

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2107


Concerto #1 in C Major
for oboe and piano
by Johann Christian Fischer (1733-1800)- German composer and oboe virtuoso
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Rondeaux

Edited by Ulrich Leisinger. This work is reported to have been performed by Fischer himself at its first public performance in London. It is likely that it originated on the Continent, as manuscript copies were offered for sale by Breitkopf in Leipzig in 1771 and 1773. The effect of this splendid work is carefully calculated: the first movement is attractive but (with the exception of a short solo for the two horns leading to the recapitulation) quite conventional. The slow movement charms by the keen harmonies of the simple tune. The Rondo finale is a real masterpiece. The main theme is a minuet which soon became extraordinarily popular. In addition to an episode in a minor mode, Fischer incorporates a Polonaise, this combining two favorite dance tunes of the time.

Fischer's Concerto #2 in Eb Major is also available as MR 2282