Wishing you all the best for 2023!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Passacaglia (Score & Parts)-OB/CL/BSN

Composer: Halvorsen, Johan

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 20005


Passacaglia for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon

by Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935)

Written in 1897 by this Norwegian composer, this Passacaglia is one of a very few works of his that are commonly performed today. It is a virtuosic tour de force for violin and viola duo based on a theme by Handel. There are several alternate duet versions for strings including viola and cello, two cellos, etc. Because of multiple stops and constant playing in the string parts, three winds were needed to realize the piece successfully. Halvorsen was a student of Grieg, and his romantic style differs from anything originally composed for reed trio.

This edition is arranged by Peter Simpson.