TrevCo-Varner Music will be closed from May 30th until June 8th. Customers will still be able to place orders during that time, but nothing will be shipped until I return from the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp. Thank you for your patience.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

5*4*3 (except after C) (Score & Parts)-OB/CL/BSN

Composer: Bradbury, William

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 2957


5*4*3 (except after C)
for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon
by William Bradbury- American composer

dedicated to the PEN Trio

I. Freely, Quietly
II. Presto
III. Majestic
IV. Suspended, gently
V. Forceful, dynamic

From the composer:

I was lucky enough to study gamelan for several years with Indonesian master Sumarsam wile I was in graduate school. As a composer, I was intrigued with the exciting pentatonic compositions in that tradition. A number of years ago, I wrote a piece for flute, piano, and bass entitled 5*4*3 (five notes for three players) that used only five pitches. I found it to be an interesting compositional challenge. In writing this new piece for the PEN Trio, I revisited the idea and began composing with a different set of five notes. As the composition unfolded, however, I felt somewhat limited by this constraint so I added a new rule, I would compose strictly pentatonic music with the caveat that I could inset the note C (not in the original scale) when it felt right. Many thanks to the wonderful musicians in the PEN Trio for commissioning and premiering this piece.