Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sinfonia Concertante in Eb Major, K297 - OB/CL/HN/BSN/(PN)

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 58026


Sinfonia Concertante in Eb Major, K297
for oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, and piano (orchestra)
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Theme & Variations
From Mozart’s letters to his father we know that in 1778, during his sojourn in Paris, he wrote a Sinfonia concertante for flute, oboe, horn, bassoon and orchestra, for a quartet of wind instrumentalists likewise staying in that city. Mozart’s autograph manuscript however has disappeared, and with it any trace of the work.
There is considerable controversy surrounding Mozart's Concertante K297 for four wind instruments. Some scholars believe the original was composed for flute, oboe, bassoon and horn but the original is lost and a score discovered in 1870 uses the clarinet instead of flute and it is this (clarinet) version most widely heard today and which is presented here.
The full orchestra score for the clarinet version is available HERE
The version for flute, oboe, horn, and bassoon (and piano) is available HERE
This is a set with the four solo parts and a piano reduction of the orchestration. Although it can be performed as a quartet with piano, the set is really for practice purposes only for the four soloists. Edited with a piano reduction by Martin Schelhaas.