TrevCo-Varner Music wil be closed from July 13th through July for the IDRS Conference in Tampa, FL. All orders received during this time will be filled once we return from the conference. Thank you for your patience. We hope to see you all there! Please stop by and say, "Hello" at our booth.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

The Rose Chronicles (Score & Parts)-OB/CL/BSN

Composer: Baldwin, Daniel

Publisher: Imagine Music

Edition: CMS073


The Rose Chronicles
for oboe, English horn, and bassoon
by Daniel Badlwin (b. 1978)- American composer
I. Opening of a Rose
II. Reaching the Rose
III. The Rose's Call
IV. Roses Movin' In
Composer's Notes:
The Rose Chronicles is loosely based on four poems by my father, Leslie L. Baldwin, Jr. Many of his poems are very impressionistic in style and this was the approach I took at setting his poems. Instead of setting the poems based on the text, the music is a reflection of the emotions that each poem brought out in me. The first movement, Opening of a Rose, is by turns contemplative, playful, and dramatic. There is a sense of grandeur that pervades this movement. Movement two, Reaching the Rose, begins with a nice pastoral english horn solo and duet with the oboe which fade into a dramatic tune that is both reflective and somber. Some playful moments interrupt momentarily, but quickly return to the dramatic and melancholy statements. The Rose’s Call is a rip roaring rondo Irish folk dance that frames both lyrical solos and duets accompanied by gently pulsating chords and a beautifully lyrical chorale section. The finale, Roses Movin’ In, starts off with a series of dark and dramatic syncopated statements that give way to a brilliant succession of playfully syncopated chords based on a repeated rhythmic motif. This gives way to one last lovely chorale which leads to an impressive finish.
This piece is also available for oboe, English horn, and bassoon, here.