Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in f minor-EH/PN

Composer: Yvon, Carlo

Publisher: McGinnis & Marx

Edition: MGM9920


Sonata in f minor
for English horn and piano
by Carlo Yvon (1798-1854)- Italian composer, virtuoso oboist, and English horn player
I. Largo- Allegro agitato
II. Adagio
IV. Rondo

This edition is a facsimile reproduction of the original publication.

Carlo Yvon served as solo oboist with La Scala in Milan. He also held the position of 'Maestro' with the Milan Conservatory, where he had once been a student. The Sonata in f minor for English horn and piano was first published in 1840. This beautiful work is characteristic of the Italian Romantic period with Bel Canto writing permeating the virtuoso technical passages.