Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto for Bassoon - BSN/PN

Composer: Watson, Ken

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1693 - 56185


Concerto for Bassoon and Chamber Orchestra
reduction for bassoon and piano
by Ken Watson 

I. Allegretto
II. Adagio
III. Moderato-Presto
This concerto explores one survivor's emotional journey through the grief process. After the loss of a loved one, many people experience a common set of emotions, albeit not in any predictable progressions. The bassoon soloist represents a survivor, and although not strictly programmatic, the three movements represent the survivor's progress from initial notification to a successful adaptation to a "new normal" of like with acceptance and hope. 
The first movement begins with a suggestion of numbness and disbelief, a denial in the solo line undermined by a descending harmonic structure. The second theme expressed anguish. The second movement shows anger, followed by depression. The third movement treats acceptance. 
The full set and score for performance with orchestra will be forthcoming.