Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Sonatas for oboe and basso continuo RV53, RV28, RV34 - OB/PN

Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio

Publisher: Edition Walhall (Germany)

Edition: 61146


Three Sonatas RV 53, RV27, RV34
for oboe and basso continuo
by Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) - Italian composer and violinist


Edited by Alessandro Bares, these sonatas are not present in autograph. Only the first, RV53 bears the inscription per oboe. The other two do not bear any indication concerning instrumentation. However, the absence of any double stops, the range, and the nature of the passage work do indeed suggest that they were written for oboe, and not violin or flute. Tempo markings and/or titles are also absent.

The basso part is a true basso continuo, with very, very few indications of bass figures. Mostly, only the basso line itself is indicated, and therefore, a talented keyboard player is required. This edition comes with a solo oboe part, a basso part, and a performance score. It is possible to perform these works without keyboard, as an uneven duet with oboe and bassoon.