Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

24 Melodic Studies, op. 65 - OB

Composer: Verroust, Stanislas

Publisher: Jeanne Inc.

Edition: 62340


24 Melodic Studies, op. 65
for oboe
by Louis Stanislas Xavier Verroust (1814-1863) - French composer and oboist

Verroust studied at the Paris Conservatoire under Vogt, winning First Prize in 1834. After completing his studies he held both civil and military positions, and, in 1853, was appointed to the position of professor at the Paris Conservatoire. He retained that position until 1863. In addition to 24 Etudes Melodiques, op. 65, Verroust also composed several solo oboe pieces with piano accompaniment. The current edition of Verroust's melodic studies, edited by Valarie Anderson, is based on the Richault edition from c. 1855. Obvious errors in rhythm and pitch have been corrected and a few slurs have been added for consistency and to clarify the melodic line.
Grade 5-6