Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in c minor-OB/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Babell, William

Publisher: Universal Edition (Austria)

Edition: 69555


Sonata in c minor
for oboe and piano (basso continuo)
by William Babell (ca. 1690-1723)- English Baroque composer, violinist, and organist
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Poco largo
IV. Adagio
V. Allegro
Edited by Hans de Vries with a realization of the figured bass by Albert de Klerk. This work is a good example of Babell's skill as a harpsichord players that was put to good use in the writing out of detailed ornaments, the "proper Graces adapted to each Adagio by the Author", as the title page says. This edition comes with a solo oboe part, a fully realized keyboard part, as well as a separate basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as cello or bassoon.