From June 27th through July 22nd, I will performing at the Bellingham Music Festival, north of Seattle. During this time, it may take a few extra days to respond to emails and phone calls. Orders will continue to be processed in the normal timeframe, however. Thank you for your patience, Eric Varner

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Nod Quiet Ox-OB/PN

Composer: Greenbaum, Matthew

Publisher: Trillenium Music Company (Don Stewart)

Edition: T009


Nod Quiet Ox
for oboe and piano
by Matthew Greenbaum (b. 1950)- American composer
I. Ebullient, free
II. Distant, singing
III. Martial
IV. Singing, measured
V. Lightly; joyously
VI. Singing, free
Nod Quiet Ox (1994) is a six-movement dance suite for oboe and piano written for Marcia Butler. it was premiered in recital for the League of Composers in 1995. The work has something of the character of a pastoral; this characteristic helps explain the title. Its structural origin lies in a cycle of fifths principle that governs all pitch material and that principle makes possible enharmonic spellings of significant passages. The title is as well an anagrammatic homage to Don Quixote.