Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet in a minor (From the String Quartet D.804) (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Schubert, Franz

Publisher: Trillenium Music Company (Don Stewart)

Edition: 916/917


Quintet: After the string quartet in a minor, D.804
for woodwind quintet
by Franz Schubert (1797-1828)- German composer
I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Andante
III. Menuetto: Allegretto
IV. Allegro moderato
Transcribed by Don Stewart.
Most often, music written for string ensembles defies successful transcription to a woodwind grouping. But this work is different. It seemed to fit exactly the wind quintet. The ranges are near perfect; Schubert seems almost to be writing for winds. The figuration, although quite virtuosic, lies well and comfortably, and indeedis somewhat showy for wind quintet. Beyon all of that, the hypnotic and often gloomy power of the music seems to be enhanced in this setting. This transcription was finished in 1971, and first presented by the Boehm Quintette at Bucknell University in February of 1982. Further rehearsals and performances produced an excellent audience response. 
-Don Stewart