Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quartet (score & parts) - OB/STG3

Composer: Zwilich, Ellen Taaffe

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 69398


for oboe, violin, viola, and cello
by Ellen Taaffe Zwilich (b. 1939) - American composer
I. Quarter= 60
II. Quarter= 90

A commission by the Saratoga Chamber Music Festival has brought about an important new addition to the oboist’s repertoire. Set in two movements, the new Zwilich Quartet is expectedly demanding and unexpectedly rewarding, as described by Mr. Dalton: "The handsome two-movement piece did something rare among contemporary works. It left one wanting more. It’s obvious why musicians are drawn to Zwilich’s scores - they are modern and abstract yet cogent and expressive. And from a performance perspective, the music is both challenging and flattering. The new quartet is full of ideas that exploit the interplay of instruments in their varied ranges." -Joseph Dalton, Albany Times Union (NY)
Duration: 14:00