Wishing you great reeds for the holidays!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Bassoon Concerto - BSN/PN

Composer: Telemann, Georg Philipp

Publisher: ALRY Publications

Edition: 46281


Bassoon Concerto
for bassoon and piano
by Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1741) - German Baroque composer

I. Largo
II. Allegro
III. Andante
IV. Presto

This publication features a piano reduction by Mark Popkin, edited by Nancy Johnston. Cadenzas are by Truman Bullard.

This is a literal transcription of the popular Telemann Viola Concerto, with only changes in register to accommodate the bassoon’s range limitations. Probably written between 1716 and 1721 at a rather simple technical level due to the scarcity of accomplished viola players at that time, this work is the earliest known viola concerto. Scored for Bassoon and Piano.