Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto #6 in Bb Major (Score & Set)-BSN/ORCH

Composer: Bond, Capel

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 2854


Concerto #6 in Bb major
for bassoon and orchestra
by Capel Bond (1730-1790)- English organist and composer
I. Andante
II. Adagio
III, Affetuoso
IV. Allegro

This Concerto is a forgotten gem that was first rediscovered by Gerald Finzi and subsequently published with piano and bassoon parts edited by William Waterhouse. This edition is based on the original first printed edition of 1766. This beautiful concerto in four movements (bassoon is tacet mvmt 2) whose total duration is approximately 8 minutes, is an ideal work for young bassoonists as the range and difficulty are both moderate and accessible. Further, the string orchestra accompaniment is not overly taxing and all parts are fully cued, thereby requiring a minimal amount of rehearsal time. By today's standards this would make an ideal first concerto by a student for recital, contest, or even performance with orchestra. However, it is equally successful in both the hands of a student or professional.

This edition includes one full score, a solo bassoon part, a continuo part with figured bass, and string parts, 3-3-2-2-1.

A separate piano reduction is also available: