We are open and shipping orders during this unusual time. Stay safe. Practice!

Click image above to zoom

Quintet Op 14 (Score & Parts)-BSN/STG4

Composer: Platt, Russell

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 2852


Quintet Op 14
for bassoon and string quartet
by Russell Platt 
I. Slow
II. Still Slow
Composed in 1996 and 1997 for the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota. This work is in two movements, the first flowing quite naturally insto the second; the second movement's meditative introduction features a cadenza for the bassoon. (While the stringed instruments have interesting parts to play, the powerfully contrasting timbre of the bassoon makes a solo role inevitable; the composer brought this to the fore by transcribing an extended version of the piece into a Concerto for bassoon and strings, premiered by Peter Kolkay with Alexander Platt and the Wisconsin Philharmonic in 2008.) The first movement molds its melodies into the structure of a twin-towered suspension bridge, while the second goes on a jumpier, more varied journey. In addition to the influence of Copland, Schoenberg, Bartok, and John Adams, listeners might also notice the tendencies of the composer's own linear style, which emphasizes the patient expansion of tightly-packed melodic cells.