Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in d minor (Cramer/Bach) - OB/PN

Composer: Marcello

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 2806k - 68325


Concerto in d minor

for oboe and piano

by Alessandro Marcello

The Marcello Oboe Concerto is arguably the most recognized and performed work for the instrument. This beautiful three movement concerto is accessible to younger oboists as well as professionals. This piece is frequently performed in the key of c minor, or in the key of d minor. Trevco Music offers the work in both keys, both for oboe and piano, or oboe and orchestra.

When selecting an edition of this work, check the second movement's ornamentation carefully. Many editions provide the ornamentation by Richard Lauschmann, others use the ornamentation by J.S. Bach (based off of his edition of the piece for harpsichord, BWV 974), and some offer no written out ornamentation at all.

This particular edition in d minor for oboe and piano has printed both the original (non-ornamented) part, with the J.S. Bach version printed above.

Edited by Trevor Cramer.


Notes from the publisher:

The d minor Marcello Oboe Concerto was composed by Alessandro Marcello, brother of Benedetto Marcello who transcribed the original version to c minor. Trevco offers both versions: d minor TCO 2806; and c minor TCO2807. Editions are identical except for the key. Matching string sets with basso continuo for each version are also available.