Click image above to zoom

Bremen Town Musicians (Score & Parts)-WW10+NARRATOR

Composer: Stanichar, C

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1031


Bremen Town Musicians
for two flutes (2nd doubles piccolo), oboe, two clarinets, bass clarinet, two bassoons, two French horns, and narrator
by Christopher Stanichar- American composer

This set includes a full score and 10 parts

Bremen Town Musicians is based on the famous Brother's Grimm fairy tale about four old retired farm animals who unte together in order to follow their dream of becoming musicians. Along the way they met a gang of robbers in a cabin in the woods and, after scaring the robbers away with their horrible music, they decide they would rather just live happily ever after in that peaceful cabin. Inspired by Prokofieff, the composer used several instruments to represent the animals: the donkey is portrayed by the bassoon, the hound dog by the horn, the cat by the clarinet, and the rooster by the oboe. 

The work was originally written in 2001 as a double woodwind quintet for the Northern Kentucky Chamber Players. It was later reworked for full orchestra, which was commissioned and premiered by the Omaha Municipal Orchestra in 2002 with Dale Munson as narrator. This version is for a chamber wind ensemble of ten instruments.