As we mourn the passing of Eric Varner, owner of TrevCo Varner Music, we want to assure everyone that the business will continue and all orders will be processed and sent out as usual. Emails and phone calls will be returned as quickly as possible.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Adagio (Attributed to Wagner)-OB/PN

Composer: Baermann, Heinrich

Publisher: Southern Music Co

Edition: ST985


for oboe and piano
by Heinrich Baermann (1784-1847)- German clarinet virtuoso

Edited by David Hite
Originally for clarinet and string quartet, this beautiful Adagio has over the years been attributed to Richard Wagner. Various editions have claimed that this movement was a septet written by Wagner in Wurzburg in 1833. In 1964, however, it was discovered that the Adagio was actually the middle movement of the Clarinet Quintet Opus 23 by Heinrich Baermann, published in 1821.