Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in c minor (Andraud) - OB/PN

Composer: Marcello

Publisher: Southern Music Co

Edition: 11199


Concerto in c minor
for oboe and piano
by Alessandro Marcello (1673-1747) - Italian composer
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro

The Marcello Oboe Concerto is arguably the most recognized and performed work for the instrument. This beautiful three movement concerto is accessible to younger oboists as well as professionals. This piece is frequently performed in the key of c minor, or in the key of d minor. TrevCo Music offers the work in both keys, both for oboe and piano, or oboe and orchestra.
When selecting an edition of this work, check the second movement's ornamentation carefully. Many editions provide the ornamentation by Richard Lauschmann, others use the ornamentation by J.S. Bach (based off of his edition of the piece for harpsichord, BWV 974), and some offer no written out ornamentation at all.
This particular edition in c minor for oboe and piano is the edition by Albert Andraud, created in 1923 specifically for the oboe as solo instrument.

Level 5