Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

The Rite of Spring (Long Version) (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Stravinsky, Igor

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 65681


The Rite of Spring (Long Version)
for woodwind quintet
by Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) - Russian composer

This woodwind quintet arrangement of selections from the Rite of Spring was originally commissioned by the San Francisco Symphony's Keeping Score educational outreach program for performance in their workshops about the Rite. The idea was to take Stravinsky's 35-minute work for a huge orchestra and condense it into a 10-12 minute piece for woodwind quintet, capturing the essence of the work and highlighting the ingenious ways in which Stravinsky uses woodwind instruments. The Imani Winds later commissioned Jonathan Russell to extend the arrangement by another ten minutes. The rehearsal marks in this arrangement correspond to the original rehearsal marks from Stravinsky's composition. 
This arrangement contains most, but not all of the original music from the ballet. 
The shorter, 10-minute version is also available by clicking on this link: