Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Suite for Woodwind Sextet (Score & Parts)-FL/OB/ASAX/CL/BCL/BSN

Composer: Stravinsky, Igor

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 10033


Suite for Woodwind Sextet

by Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Arranged by Albie Micklich. 

I have been very fortunate and professionally blessed to have five wonderful woodwind colleagues at Arizona State University: Elizabeth Buck, flute; Christopher Creviston, saxophone; Joshua Gardner, clarinet; Martin Schuring, oboe; and Robert Spring, clarinet. Together, we presented numerous woodwind recitals featuring all six of us in various combinations of duos, trios, quartets, and quintets. However, until now, we were never able to share the stage simultaneously. To remedy this, I arranged five movements of Stravinsky's Suite #1 and Suite #2 for Small Orchestra for the instrumentation of the ASU woodwind faculty. 

The source material is derived from Igor Stravinsky's Three Easy Pieces (1915) and Five Easy Pieces (1917). These compositions were written as four-hand piano educational pieces for Stravinsky's children. Stravinsky would play the more difficult accompaniments while his children played the simple melodies. 

Stravinsky composed arrangements of several movements using these short eight pieces, but the best-known arrangements are Suite #1 (1921) and Suite #2 (1925) for Small Orchestra. The five dance movements in Suite for Woodwind Sextet are "true Stravinsky" in their wit, charm, and humor. 

-Albie Micklich