Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Chesterton Flowers (score & parts) - 4BSN

Composer: Goddard, Mark

Publisher: Spartan Press (Scotland)

Edition: 66390


Chesterton Flowers
for bassoon quartet
by Mark Goddard (b. 1960) - British composer
I. Hollyhocks
II. Deadly Nightshade
III. French Marigolds
IV. Canterbury Bells

This work was written for a concert given by the "Equal Opportunities Bassoon Quartet" as part of a flower festival at the Oxfordshire village of Chesterton, in June of 1985. The current names of each of the four movements are only one interpretation: the aggressive strains of II for example, could equally suggest "Mother-in-Law's Tongue" or "Stinking Hellbore". Feel free to rename them as the mood takes you. 

Duration: 10:00