Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Offenbach Cocktail (score & parts) - WW5/STG4

Composer: Offenbach, Jacques

Publisher: Schott (Germany)

Edition: 31137


Offenbach Cocktail
for woodwind quintet and string quartet
by Jacques Offenbach (1819-1890) - German-born French composer and cellist
1. La Belle Helene
2. The Grand Duchess of Gerlostein
3. La Vie Parisienne
4. Orpheus in the Underworld

Now then: hitch up your skirts and get your legs kicking, ready for the can-can! Of course this dance has to be one of the ingredients of an Offenbach Cocktail, along with other lively tunes from his operettas. Best of all: this arrangement can be mixed together like a cocktail. One or more of the following instruments may be added to the string quartet: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and/or double bass.

This arrangement of 4 of Offenbach's most popular pieces is really for string quartet with all other parts being ad lib. It could actually be performed by just a wind quintet, but would be most effective when performed by the WW5 and STG4 ensemble (ad lib bass part included also). Arranged and edited by Wolfgang Birtel.