Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonate - SOLO OB

Composer: Holliger, Heinz

Publisher: Schott (Germany)

Edition: 66121


for unaccompanied oboe
by Heinz Holliger (b. 1939) - Swiss oboist, composer, and conductor
I. Praeludium
II. Capriccio
III. Aria
IV. Finale
Heinz Holliger, more than any other oboist, has been a unique driving force in the development of 20th-century oboe playing. This early sonata for oboe is nevertheless more than just a tour de force and a showpiece for competitions or recitals: the 'Capriccio' is a polished example of the art of counterpoint and the 'Aria' is soulful and deeply moving.
Dedicated to the memory of Emile Cassagnaud. 
This piece was written in 1956/7 and revised in 1999.