Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Prelude: Autumn - OB/PN

Composer: Tippett. Michael

Publisher: Schott (Germany)

Edition: OBB1001


Prelude: Autumn (1991)
for oboe and piano
by Michael Tippett (1905-1998)- English composer

Arranged by Meirion Bowen. This work was originally for oboe and string quartet, and was one of the instrumental interludes composed for Tippett's Cantata "Crown of the Year", a memorial tribute to oboist Janet Craxton (1929-1991). In the slow outer section the original oboe part is unchanged and is set against a keyboard version of the string accompaniment. For the much faster central section, the oboe to some extent takes over the first violin line; the piano part, here, is elaborated to accommodate string parts, and bell sonorities, some of its textures being modeled on those of Tippett's piano concerto.