Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Wind Quintet in Ab Major, op. 14 (urtext) (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Holst, Gustav

Publisher: Sky Dance Press (England, Raymond Head)

Edition: 66000


Wind Quintet in Ab Major, op. 14
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Gustav Holst (1874-1934) - English composer
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Minuet (in Canon)
IV. Air and Variations
Holst composed his Wind Quintet in 1903. A note in his list of compositions states that Holst sent the score in 1914 to the flautist Albert Fransella (who took part in the performance of the Terzetto in 1926). The work remained unperformed however, and all trace of it was lost until Holst's draft score turned up in a private collection in 1952. Then in 1978 the manuscript fair copy was discovered amongst the papers of Lucy Broadwood (1858-1929) which had been deposited in the Surrey Record Office. A copy of this score was kindly made available by the Broadwood Trust, and the work was performed for the first time on September 15th, 1982 by the Nash Ensemble in the Wigmore Hall, London.
New complete urtext edition by Raymond Head with a unique historical introduction, a description of the original manuscript, and textural notes. Set includes beautifully engraved score and parts with "lost" sections fully restored along with other minor corrections. A new "gem" for quintets worldwide!