Click image above to zoom

Quintet #1 (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Switzer, Scott A.

Publisher: Scott A. Switzer

Edition: SASMP04


Quintet #1 for woodwind quintet
by Scott A. Switzer
I. In a moderate tempo
II. Passionate, slow
III. Like a tempest, moderate tempo

From the composer:

"Quintet #1 was written as a reaction to other contemporary quintets. The quintet's instrumentation acts as both an asset as well as a detriment. Many composer attempt to stretch the abilities of the ensemble. Though many groups are able to perform these works admirably, these new pieces show flaws inherent in the ensemble. I wanted to write a work that uses the instruments in as many different ways as possible but done in a way that gives the performers a chance to always sound the best."

Duration: 15:00