Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet, op. 2, #1 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Brod, Henri

Publisher: Rosewood Publications (England)

Edition: 65829


Quintet, op. 2, #1

for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon

by Henri Brod (1799-1839) - French composer and oboist

I. Introduction & Vivace
II. Andante
III. Allegro
IV. Presto

Brod wrote three wind quintets, which all date from around 1820. The amply and surprisingly demonstrate his brilliance, freshness of ideas and original use of harmony, within the idiom of his day. The music is brilliant and virtuosic, exploiting technical capabilities to the limit, making use of the many then-recent developments to the key mechanisms of all five instruments. 

Edited by John Wilcox.