Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Suite of Folk Tunes from Transylvania & Banat (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Elmer, Roderick

Publisher: Rosewood Publications (England)

Edition: 65838


Suite of Folk Tunes from Transylvania & Banat

for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon

by Roderick Elmer (b. 1947)

Written in 1998, these tunes were collected in the 1930s. The arrangements are inspired by similar treatment of such melodies by Bartok and Kodaly. 

  1. Fair the maid, sweet and clean
  2. Mummy's girl
  3. Good evening to thee, good woman
  4. Down in the valley by the mill
  5. Folk Dance
  6. The Old Witch
  7. He who crosses thickets green
  8. Birdie, my little bird
  9. May wet hay go up in flames
  10. A serbian circle dance