Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Wind Quintet #1 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Ronnes, Kristian Oma

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1723 - 68643


Wind Quintet #1
for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Kristian Oma Ronnes (b. 1991) - Norwegian composer and bassoonist
I. Larghetto a calorate
II. Andante espressivo
III. Moderato, ardito con brioso
IV. Presto

This work is inspired by Albert Bierstadt's extraordinary "Yosemite Valley" paintings. The Quintet's opening should therefore not become too static, but rather should move forward and be interpreted with long lines. During its four movements, the quintet has an increasing intensity and development of tonality, which is also clearly affected by the tempos. 

This work was written for the "Composer's Quintet" at the Norwegian Academy of Music, 2010-2011. It was premiered by the same quintet, with the musicians: Veronica Ski-Berg (flute), Elisa Metus (oboe), Nils Erik Maseidvag (clarinet), Niklas Sebastian Grenvik (horn), and Kristian Oma Ronnes (bassoon). 

An optional part for clarinet in A is provided for the fourth movement.