Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in e minor - OB/PN

Composer: Forster, Emanuel Aloys

Publisher: Robert Forberg (Germany)

Edition: 59221


Concerto in e minor
for oboe and piano
by Emanuel Aloys Forster (1748-1823) - Prussian-born composer
I. Allego ma poco
II. Largo
III. Allegro

Arranged and edited by Richard Lauschmann. This work stands out as by the vigorous spirit of the first and last movement as well as the lively contrasts between the tutti and the solo part, offering to the soloist a welcome opportunity to exhibit a pearling fluency within the best sounding range of the instrument. It favors the espressivo sound in the cantabile of the middle movement. The Solo character of the oboe is brought to bear in a most excellent manner. The oboe writing reveals the composer's intimate knowledge of the instrument: Forster played the oboe in an army band during the years of his military service. The orchestral material is also available for purchase.