Wishing you all the best for 2023!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet in g minor (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Respighi, Ottorino

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 57311


Quintet in g minor
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) - Italian composer
I. Allegro
II. Andante & Variations
Edited by Luca Franceschelli. 

The Quintetto in sol minore P021 dates from 1898. It is a youthful
composition, written whilst Respighi was a student of Prof.
Giuseppe Martucci at the Musical Lyceum in Bologna. Probably
composed as an exercise work, the hand of his teacher is easily
recognizable in the rigorous structure. The first movement, Allegro,
is based on the classical sonata form with a solemn and maestoso
character in which we can see the masterful employment of the
five instruments. The second movement, Andante, in D minor,
is composed with a 24 bars theme and continued with four
variations, each with a different character, and finishes with an
eight bar finale based on the opening theme.

This edition is based on the manuscript score, which can be found
in the works of Ottorino Respighi at the Giorgio Cini Foundation in
Venice. For the first time we can see the 4th Variation and the
Finale, missing in the manuscript parts as stored in the "Museo
Internazionale e Biblioteca della Musica" in Bologna. Nonetheless
it is curious that in the last bar of the Finale all fermata signs are
cancelled as if Respighi had the intention to continue.