Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Wind Octet (Score & Parts)-WW8

Composer: Russell, Jonathan

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 20003


Wind Octet for two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns

by Jonathan Russell

This Octet was composed as a companion piece to Mozart's c minor Wind Serenade, and premiered alongside it. In addition to writing for the same instrumentation, I wanted to find a way to channel the spirit of Mozart's work, but to re-interpret it in my own way. One thing I love about Mozart's wind writing is his combination of sonic resonance and clarity of texture...From my own style and background I brought, first, and expanded harmonic palette, encompassing both clear Mozartean consonances, as well as cloudier, murkier, more dissonant sounds; and second, the propulsive rhythmic drive of contemporary vernacular styles and minimalist music. The resulting piece is dark and rhythmic, but with a Mozartean resonance and clarity of texture.

-Jonathan Russell