Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

The Rite of Spring (Short Version) (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Stravinsky, Igor

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 65680


The Rite of Spring (Short Version) for woodwind quintet

by Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Clarinet is in A and Bb; Flute doubles Piccolo. Arranged by Jonathan Russell.

Jonathan Russell has arranged Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring for Woodwind Quintet. He writes, "The idea was to take Stravinsky's 35 minute work for a huge orchestra and condense it into a 10 to 12 minute piece for woodwind quintet, capturing the essence of the work and highlighting the ingenious ways in which Stravinsky uses woodwind instruments."

This version contains highlights from the Rite of Spring, and has a duration of 10-12 minutes. There is also a longer, more complete version available by the same arranger that contains much more (but not quite all) of the original ballet music.

It can be found by clicking on this link: