Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Summer's Lease (1981) - SOLO OB

Composer: Chandler, Mary

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: 65418


Summer's Lease
Variations for solo oboe, 1981
by Mary Chandler (1911-1996) - English composer and oboist
I. Morning
II. Noon
III. Nightfall

The title comes from Shakespeare's Sonnet #18:

Shall I compare thee to a Summer's day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And Summer's lease hath all too short a date...


The work falls into three sections, Morning, Noon, and Nightfall, but rather than a summer's day, these convey the autumnal mood of the Sonnet's fourth line. This is not program music, but there are suggestions of gradually increasing birdsong (cuckoo etc.) in Morning, of bees buzzing in Noon and of falling asleep amid the noises in Nightfall.