Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Orient Express Route 1-OB/PN

Composer: Vancin, Ayser

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP643


Orient Express Route 1
for oboe (or clarinet or violin) and piano
by Ayser Vancin (b. 1948)- Turkish composer

Orient Express is a collection of pieces for oboe and piano describing the stages in the journey across Europe to Istanbul. They are presented in two collections, Route 1 and Route 2. 

The instrumentation is rather complex, with each movement being written for either oboe, English horn, violin, flute, or clarinet, sometimes in duo form. However, each movement may also be simply performed on oboe with piano accompaniment. 

Route 1 starts in London with the Bells of Westminster and a walk in Hyde Park. The next stop is Munich to hear a German tune, followed by a visit to Vienna for a waltz. In Budapest, there is a gypsy tune, and Vinkopje in Romania is represented by a dance for oboe. The journey ends with the boatmen of Istanbul serenading us. 

Route 2 may be found by clicking on the following link: