Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Country Pictures-OB/PN

Composer: Barton, David

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP630


Three Country Pictures
for oboe and piano
by David Barton (b. 1983)- English composer
I. Halcyon Lament
II. Woodland Glade
III. Harvest Times

Three Country Pictures were written between 2005 and 2007 and reflect areas of country life. Halcyon Lament is a nostalgic look back at days gone by. One can almost picture the great television presenter Jack Hargreaves surveying the disappearing country ways of the South of England. Woodland Glade is a reflective piece suggestive of sun streaming through the willow trees on the banks of the River Itchen outside Winchester. The rhythmically intricate and-almost- pompous Harvest Times gives a feel for the importance of the land to farmers, and the great satisfaction of bringing in the annual harvest.