Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Partita for Ten Wind Instruments (Score & Parts)-DBL WW5

Composer: Dodgson, Stephen

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP548


Partita for Ten Wind Instruments
for two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two horns, and two bassoons
by Stephen Dodgson (1924-2013)- English composer
  1. March I
  2. Scherzo I
  3. Romance, Part A (Stirrings of the Heart)
  4. Interruption (Burlesque on the March)
  5. Romance, Part B (The Heart Speaks Out)
  6. Scherzo II
  7. March II

With Seven short movements arranged in a proportioned sequence and its debt to the traditional Windharmonic of paired instruments, the Partita clearly belongs in a world of classical patterning. The opening and closing Marches are closely related, though the second keeps the secret for some time. By contrast, the central Interruption is far removed in tempo, rhythm and attitude, bearing only a grotesque relationship to its parental Marches. The duple rhythm common to both Scherzos is deceptive: In fact they are sharply contrasted, with chattering flutes giving the clue to the lightweight Scherzo I. The marking pesante and the heavyweight count of four quavers to the bar defines Scherzo II, softened only by the occasional plaintive horn solos. The Romance is rudely interrupted and split in two, but it is not dismissed: the gaps before and after are marked segue subito. The bassoons need to survive the shrill disturbance in order to expand the eloquence they had just begun to achieve beforehand.