Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Trio (score & parts) - 2OB/EH

Composer: Binnington, Stephen

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: 65389


for two oboes and English horn
by Stephen Binnington (b. 1953) - English composer


The Trio was composed in 1998 for Jennifer Porcas and "The Reeds". The first of the three movements, which are performed without a break, is a light-hearted Scherzetto. The second movement is both melodic and reflective until an angry intrusive outburst interrupts the flow. Peace is quickly restored and the movement ends quietly, as it began The Finale is an effervescent, rustic dance in 6/8/ time which contains a calming and contrasting chromatic, cantabile section. The dance idea returns, but does the work end in a merry way?