Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

The City of Dreams, op. 60 - SOLO OB

Composer: Scott, Stuart

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: 65566


The City of Dreams, op. 60
for unaccompanied oboe
by Stuart Scott (b. 1949) - English composer


The City of Dreams was composed in 1980, and first performed in London in october 1986 by Mary Pilbery. A second copy of the third page is provided as there is no break in the music permitting a page turn. Stuart Scott describes the inspiration for this composition as follows:

The sacred city of Akhetaten, now known as el-Amarna, was founded by the pharaoh Akhenaten in a previously uninhabited site. It was the capital of a great empire before being abandoned on the downfall of the heretic pharaoh who created it, and was swallowed up by the desert sands after only a short period of existence.