Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger


Composer: Elmer, Roderick

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP243


Sextet (1994)
for woodwind quintet and piano
by Roderick Elmer (b. 1947)- English composer


The Sextet began life as a piano quartet. Sketches of the music and the fugue theme date from 1980. The piece was then laid aside until 1992, when the composer was in a group regularly playing works for wind and piano. The sketches were then expanded into the form of an extended prelude and fugal finale. The underlying tonality of the Sextet in c minor, and the piece is unashamedly inspired by many previous composers who wrote memorably in this key. The first public performance was given in November of 1995.