Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Four Impromptus-OB/PN

Composer: Le Fleming, Antony

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP196


Four Impromptus 
for oboe and piano
by Antony Le Fleming (b. 1941)- British composer
  1. Con moto
  2. Rhapsodic, free
  3. Gentle, relaxed
  4. Quick and Agile

The Four Impromptus were composed in 1994, and revised in 1996. The four pieces are well-contrasted, two lyrical and melodious movements set against two outer movements in jazzy style. These pieces will offer rhythmic challenges to the less experienced oboist, but are both accessible and attractive. The piano plays an important part in setting the moods and harmonic feel of the pieces and the overall effect is of quirkiness and charm.