Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Cantus Amoris-BSN/PN or OBD'AM/PN

Composer: Swindale, Owen

Publisher: Phylloscopus Publications (England)

Edition: PP159


Cantus Amoris
for oboe d'amore (or bassoon) and piano
by Owen Swindale (b.1927)- Scottish composer and music theorist


The solo voice may be performed by Bassoon, Oboe d'Amore, or Clarinet in A. Parts for all three are provided. 

Three poems of Sir Thomas Wyatt (1503-1542) provide epigraphs for the three movements of "Cantus Amoris". The sources are as follows:

1st movement- Devonshire MS #118

2nd movement- Egerton MS #63

3rd movement- Devonshire MS #114